“But when you speak to her, her eyes light up / the music spills right into your cup / it’s so abrupt and it’s so concise / there are pies on a carousel… / half a slice!”

There has been so much talk of apple pie and finally, Yolanda and I made our first attempt. Results weren’t earth shattering, I’ll confess, but it was definitely pie and there were definitely apples inside. That’s more than I can say for my last 18 months of dessert consumption, so I ain’t complaining.

Also, for those interested, the solution to our lumayan pie was obvious: More sugar, more butter. (Don’t it always seem to go?)

Apple Pie with Yolanda, SMAN Tam Eng Club, Les 019
Apple Pie with Yolanda, SMAN Tam Eng Club, Les 025
Apple Pie with Yolanda, SMAN Tam Eng Club, Les 027
Me: (Resting chin on kitchen table) Whatcha dooooin’?

Yolanda: Oh, I’m texting Kris.

Me: (Turns around) Isn’t he just in the other room??

Yolanda: Haha, yeah, but we always do like this.

Me: Does he want some pie?

Yolanda: That’s exactly what he just said! He would also like (squints at phone) a cup of tea.

Me: (Turns toward room where Kris is sitting) (Amused expression)

Yolanda: What. You want me to make you a cup too??

Apple Pie with Yolanda, SMAN Tam Eng Club, Les 004
Apple Pie with Yolanda, SMAN Tam Eng Club, Les 006

(We had a little excess dough and I asked Yolanda’s 7-year-old to make me something with it).

Leave a comment